Hey, I’m writing a blog,  Hands off.  I know I’m irresistible, but try to use a little self control anyway.  There are writers languishing by the side of the road, no publisher, no income, no ideas.  Why not adopt one of those?  Why not have a writer of your own instead of interfering with one trying to be productive, useful, creative, one who needs to concentrate on what she’s doing?

Now the hard part.  While no one really wants to pet me when I’m working, people do want to and try to pet working dogs. Dogs are not multi-taskers.  It’s one thing at a time and that one thing gets every ounce of their attention.  Try eating in front of your dog if you don’t believe me!  So when someone pets a service dog while that dog is on the job, or offers a hand for the dog to sniff, or starts a conversation with said dog, all the dog’s attention will go to that stranger.  In fact, depending upon what kind of service dog it is, the dog may even dowse to see what you’ve got that needs her attention.  When this happens several, even many, times a day, the dog gets tired.  The dog gets confused.  Do the rules not count today?  Am I supposed to take care of that person?  Can I please have a nap?

Dogs crave work and a dog with a working life is a happy dog, but like the writer who gets pestered while she’s writing, a little interruption can be a terrible thing.  It can even end work for the day if not longer.

There are so many dogs in need of homes.  If you want a dog, if you love dogs, if you need a dog, please adopt.  And even if you can’t, there are lots of friendly pet dogs whose owners would be happy to have you meet and greet them.  So do that, please, and let working dogs do their jobs unimpeded.

I’m just sayin’.

